Castleblayney Boys School are county basketball champions 2017

Scoil Mhuire na mBuachaillí mini Basketball Champions!

The Monaghan Primary Schools mini Basketball competition took place on Tuesday 21st February in St. Mccartans College, Monaghan.  9 teams from all over the county took part.  Castleblayney Boys School entered two teams.

TEAM B were unlucky to miss out on shield semi-final spot.  Only a 1 point loss denied them.  It was a fantastic effort from the boys, many of them never played basketball before.

TEAM A won the first game well and the second game had a narrow 1 point victory.  The semi-final brought an exciting win over St Marys Boys School Monaghan. Castleblayney Boys School went on to play an excellent game resulting in a convincing win (28-14) against Corracrin.  Great heart and a fantastic effort shown by all 11 players who took to the court.

The School showed an excellent display of the basketball skills they have been developing over the last number of years in both the School and their club.A big thank you also to their coach on the day Ms Jacqueline Harte.

Boys are already looking forward to next year and training in the Schools wonderful new Gym!

A TEAM                                                                        B TEAM

Ultan McMahon (Capt)                                               Jonathan Huang

Kealan McMahon (Capt)                                            Edgaris Miskinis

Ross McGuire                                                              Conor Comiskey

Shea Casey                                                                  Paul McKenna

Callum Campbell                                                        Thyo Olajide

Mathew Comiskey                                                      Max McGinnity

Daniel McShane                                                          Diamuid Kelly

Ionut Lungu                                                                 Luke Sanderson

Tom Carey                                                                  Martin Joyce

Charlie McQuillan                                                      Martin O’Connor

Arnas Gleeson                                                          Bruno Kukurans                                                                                                           

Enda O’Brien presenting the Cup to Captains Kealan and Ultan McMahon